Iran wins 2010 Greco-Roman World Cup in Armenia

Iran’s Greco-Roman national wrestling team were crowned the champs in the 2010 Greco-Roman World Cup for the first time in history.

The Iranian wrestlers won the final round of the competitions in Armenia with a 4-3 victory against Turkey on Sunday evening to clinch the title.

Mohammad Faghiri in the 55 kilogram, Omid Noroozi (60 kg), Saeed Abd-e-Vali (66 kg) and Amir Ali-Akbari (96 kg) were the Iranian athletes who snatched victories for Iran while Hamid Reihani, Habib Akhlaghi and Bashir Babajanzadeh in the 74, 84 and 120-kg categories respectively were defeated by their Turkish rivals.

Turkey stood second and the host Armenia placed  third.

A total of eight teams including Georgia, Turkey, Russia, Hungary, Iran, Cuba and a Nordic team took part in the 2010 Greco-Roman Wrestling World Cup in Yerevan on February 12-14.


~ by admin on February 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: